

Minutes of the IRPA14 General Assembly EC 70-07

Author: B. LE GUEN

Date : 11 May 2016

Reference : EC70-07

Title : MINUTES OF THE IRPA14 GENERAL ASSEMBLY – Cape Town – South Africa

Distribution

IRPA EC Members, AS delegates

MINUTES OF THE IRPA14 GENERAL ASSEMBLY Wednesday 11 May 2016 2 pm - 6 pm

The IRPA14 General Assembly took place on Wednesday 11 May, 2016 in Cape Town / South Africa on the occasion of the IRPA14 Congress.

1. Opening and welcome address to the Delegates

The President, Mrs. Renate Czarwinski, opened the meeting at 2.45 pm and gave a welcome address to the Delegates. She also indicated that as a new item incorporated in the IRPA rules in 2016, electronic voting was going to be used for elections during the meeting, however not for the first time: indeed, the first IRPA electronic voting happened in 1973.

2. Adoption of the Agenda

After presentation by the Executive Officer Bernard le Guen, the General Assembly agenda was unanimously adopted.

3. Membership of the General Assembly

The membership of the General Assembly was announced by the Executive Officer, i.e. 179 votes, including 7 proxies and 11 votes for the Executive Council Members (the President not being a voting member).

Appointed tellers were announced by the Executive Officer, as being Katia Gandwerg, Brett Burk and Haruyuki Ogino.

There followed extensive communication on, and test of, the new electronic voting system led by Thiagan Pather, including a series of questions by the delegates.

4. Report of the President on the 2012-2016 period

IRPA's President, Renate Czarwinski, gave an overview report of the 2012-2016 period.

5. Report of the Treasurer on the 2012-2016 period

IRPA's Treasurer, Dick Toohey, gave a financial overview report of the 2012-2016 period.

6. Adoption of the Budget for the 2016-2020 period

In the next point, the Treasurer submitted the 2016-2020 budget to the General Assembly delegates. The 2016-2020 budget was subsequently adopted.

7. Presentation on survey results

The Executive Officer presented the results of the Associate Society survey, which will be duly used to improve IRPA's activities during the next term.

Roger Coates, Vice President, welcomed the four new IRPA Associate Societies (Nigeria, Tunisia, Ghana, and Cameroon) into the IRPA family and congratulated their efforts. He remarked that it was appropriate for the first African International Congress to welcome four new societies from Africa.

8. Questions from the AS on the last 4 items

There were no questions from the Associate Societies on these first four agenda items.

9. Host for IRPA15 in 2020

The President, Renate Czarwinski, introduced Korea as being the preferred venue for IRPA15 in 2020. Executive Council Member, Jong Kyung Kim, presented for the Korean Association (KARP) on the status of preparation for IRPA15. The General Assembly unanimously endorsed the proposal for Korea as the venue for the IRPA15 International Congress.

10. Elections and appointments of the Executive Council Members

The nominations for the Officer positions on the Executive Council for 2016-2020 were presented to the delegates. The nominations were endorsed unanimously, as follows:

President	Roger Coates (UK)
Vice-President	Eduardo Gallego (Spain)
Vice President for Congress Affairs	Jong Kyung Kim (Korea)
Executive Officer	Bernard Le Guen (France)
Treasurer	Richard Toohey (US)
Publications Director	Christopher Clement (Canada)

It was noted that the current EC Members with ongoing terms were:

Ana Maria Bomben (Argentina) Alfred Hefner (Austria) Sigurður Magnùsson (Iceland – Nordic Society)

There were eight candidates for the three available elected positions on the Executive Council. The election proceeded, and the successful candidates were:

Marie-Claire Cantone (Italy) Klaus Henrichs (German/Swiss Society) Hiroko Yoshida (Japan)

11. Presentation of expressions of interest for hosting IRPA 16 in 2024

At this final point, it was noted that the candidates for hosting the future IRPA16 International Congress had presented during the Associate Society Forum: i.e. Adelaide, Australia (Australasian Radiation Protection Society), Orlando, United States (Health Physics Society), and Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Sociedade Brasileira de Proteção Radiológica). Each society gave a short presentation to the General Assembly.

12. Selection of preferred venue for IRPA 16

A vote determined that Orlando was the preferred venue for hosting IRPA16 in 2024.

13. Closing

The President closed the General Assembly and the meeting adjourned.